## MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF MEMBERS OF DS&O ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE, INC.

The 80th Annual Meeting of Members of DS&O Electric Cooperative, Inc. (DSO) was held at the Webster Conference Center in Salina, Kansas on April 2, 2019. Dinner was served by Ricky's Café (Hanover) to 317 attendees.

Pastor Justin Panzer from Faith Lutheran Church in Abilene opened the meeting with prayer.

Communications Manager, Derrick Rutherford, served as Master of Ceremony and gave away door prizes throughout the meeting.

President James Christopher welcomed the members and introduced the Board of Directors and their spouses to the membership. President Christopher presented Doug Lindahl with a plaque and thanked him for his 15 years of serving as director for the cooperative.

Mr. Christopher introduced other guests in attendance which included: Suzanne Lane, Executive Vice President/CEO of Kansas Electric Power Cooperative (KEPCo); Terry Deutscher, Manager of SCADA & Meter Maintenance also of KEPCo; Vicki Estes, Director of Communications for Kansas Electric Cooperatives; and Tyler Mason, representing Congressman Roger Marshall, from the 1<sup>st</sup> District.

President Christopher called the meeting to order at 6:37 PM and asked for a report of quorum from Secretary Ken Hedberg. Mr. Hedberg reported that a quorum was present and read the official notice of meeting. There were 153 members present and in person. President Christopher declared a quorum was present.

Mr. Christopher then stated that a copy of the minutes of the April 3, 2018 Annual Meeting was included with the Annual Report, which was mailed to all members. A motion was passed to dispense with the reading of the minutes and approve the minutes of the 2018 Annual Meeting as printed and distributed. Secretary Hedberg reviewed DSO's 2018 financials, which were printed in the Annual Report.

For his President's Report, Mr. Christopher encouraged the membership to use the DSO website as a resource for information about their electric cooperative. Mr. Christopher reviewed the "About Us" tab giving an overview of the cooperative's history, strategic plan, and the "Seven Cooperative Principals". Mr. Christopher also talked about the development of the cooperative's core values and how they were developed with the member in mind. He then read the Vision and Mission statement to the members.

Mr. Tim Power, CEO, thanked the members for attending. Mr. Power gave a presentation on the cost to serve and more specifically how power costs make up 57% of the total cost to serve. He stated that DSO has been able to save on its power costs by operating generators during summer peak hours. Mr. Power encouraged members to reduce peak and save money by enrolling in the residential peak shaving rate, which will be available to all regular residential rate customers in 2019.

Mr. Power introduced Mrs. Lane who discussed power supply and the things KEPCo is doing to try and keep its rates stable. Mrs. Lane thanked Director Dean Allison and CEO Timothy Power for their work on the KEPCo board of directors. She stated that rates have been adjusted to allow more generation from non-KEPCo sources and that a demand response study is now being completed for the purpose of seeing how KEPCo can adjust rates.

Mr. Rutherford introduced Abagail Johnson of SE of Saline, who was awarded the Government in Action trip to Washington DC.

Mr. Rutherford announced the 2019 scholarship winners. They included the following:

- Chance Jacobson East District
- Joshua Peterson West District
- Hailey Tiernan Central District
- Kaylee Hansen At Large District

There was no unfinished business to come before the membership.

Under new business, Mr. Rutherford announced the director election results. They were for the West District, James Christopher; for the Central District, Brian Lang; and for the East District, Shelia Hummel.

There being no further business to come before the membership, President Christopher adjourned the meeting at 7:30 PM.

